💛2: The Undomestic Goddess

by Sophie Kinsella

 

IMG_4472.JPG

Genre: Comedy/Chick Lit

Do you know how much I adore Chick Lit?? 😍

For those of you who are not familiar with this genre, Wikipedia defined Chick Lit as a genre fiction which addresses issues of modern womanhood, often humorously and lightheartedly. And when it comes to this genre, Sophie Kinsella is queen. Or for me, that is. 😄 I have another queen in mind (these authors are soooooo good and such an inspiration for newbie writers like yours truly), but I’ll tell you who it is in the next post.

Or the next, next.

I want to post every single one of my favorite books, but let’s just do this weekly thing. More fun.

For: Twenties girls!

Since we already have a Teen Fic last week, let’s have one from my other favorite genre (Chick Lit!!!). Twenties because this book contains mature content. Not that mature, mature. 😂 Just the usual. When it comes to choosing what to read, my advice is to read according to your age. Don’t be so curious. Enjoy life as it goes. Take it slowly.

Freesia’s Rating: 💛💛💛💛💛

I lost track of how many times I’ve read this book. It’s one of my all-time favorites. I adore the heroine. She’s so kickass.

 

 

Why I think you should read this book…

💛 Imagine you’re a high-powered lawyer. But while in practice, something goes awfully wrong and you end up being a housekeeper. How much of a brilliant plot is that?

💛 If that’s not good enough reason to pick up a copy of this book, Sophie Kinsella’s humor is one of a kind. Not just this book, but she got me laughing while reading all of her books.

 

What I love about this book…

💛 The heroine. I love being in her head and seeing the story through her eyes.

💛 Did I mention how much I love the plot? Wait until she curtsied.

💛 Her character growth will put a huge smile on your face. From a workaholic to figuring out how to operate a washing machine, she’ll take you on an enjoyable and witty ride.

💛 And also, the simple but ‘kilig’/swoon love story. Find out for yourself. 😉

 

Favorite quotes from the book…

tumblr_n3zt09nSvl1r46fnpo1_500

kinsella-quote-2

 

Book Description:

Samantha is a high-powered lawyer in London. She works all hours, has no home life, and cares only about getting a partnership.She thrives on the pressure and adrenalin. Until one day… she makes a mistake. A mistake so huge, it’ll wreck her career.

She walks right out of the office, gets on the first train she sees, and finds herself in the middle of nowhere. Asking for directions at a big, beautiful house, she is mistaken for the interviewee housekeeper and finds herself being offered the job. They have no idea they’ve hired a Cambridge-educated lawyer with an IQ of 158 – Samantha has no idea how to work the oven.

Disaster ensues. It’s chaos as Samantha battles with the washing machine…the ironing board…and attempts to cook a cordon bleu dinner.But gradually, she falls in love with her new life in a wholly unexpected way.

Will her employers ever discover the truth? Will Samantha’s old life ever catch up with her? And if it does…will she want it back?

(from: http://www.sophiekinsella.co.uk/)

 

p.s. Special participation of Happiny. Thanks for the gift, Ariane! 😘

5 thoughts on “💛2: The Undomestic Goddess

  1. I totally love this book. It’s been years since I read this book. Wow. You just made me remember Sophie Kinsella. I’ve been into fantasy genre lately and I forgot (gah, my memory) how enjoyable her books are… Hmmm, I guess I’ll be adding chick lits on my humongous TBR. .. ❤

    1. I love Sophie Kinsella. Hvae you read her I’ve Got Your Number? It’s just as hilarious as The Undomestic Goddess. Oh, and her Twenties Girl. I really enjoyed reading those books. What’s your favorite book lately? Any recommendation? 🙂

      1. I have a copy of I’ve Got Your Number but I haven’t read it(yet) and I’ve never heard of twenties girl. I’ve read her Can You Keep a Secret and Remember me. They’re both awesome reads. I managed to read until book 2 if shopaholics but I just can’t relate,lol. I’m more into fantasy world kind of books. Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan is amazing and hilarious. And the ever popular Harry Potter is an amazing read too. Leap of faith on genre. You can do it.😀

      2. You’ll enjoy reading I’ve Got Your Number. Twenties Girl is also awesome. I’m on the second to the latest book of Shopaholic. I could relate to her hahahaha. I should try reading one of Rick Riordan works soon. I’ll try one of his books. Cecelia Ahern is the closest read I’ve had in terms of fantasy.

      3. I’ll link you my review of I’ve Got Your Number when I’m done reading it. Shopaholic really doesn’t work for me. I’m not fond of shopping, I’d rather eat, haha. Start on Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief and you’ll be hooked(hopefully). Go girl!😀

Leave a Reply

