1 A.M.

1 A.M.
If I can’t let you go,
I won’t be able to take a step from here.
If I keep on looking back to you,
I will never be able to move on.
If I let you haunt me,
I’ll keep on tossing and turning in my sleep.
You, with all your imperfections,
You, with all your shortcomings,
You, with all the things you didn’t know,
You, with all these things you ought to learn.
I’ll accept you,
So that I can finally move forward.
I’ll remember you,
So that I will never forget the lessons you taught me.
I’ll take you with me,
So that you will be a memory, even often bittersweet.
You, thank you for being me,
You, thank you for your strength,
You, thank you for your willingness to learn,
You, thank you for always looking at the bright side.
You are me and I am you.
I am my past and I am now.
And I am my tomorrow.
Leave a Reply

