9💛: I’ve Got Your Number

by Sophie Kinsella

IMG_4715.JPG

“I don’t speak Japanese, I don’t know anything about Japanese business or Japanese culture. Apart from sushi. But I can’t exactly go up to him and say “Sushi!” out of the blue. It would be like going up to a top American businessman and saying, “T-bone steak!”

I never laughed so hard while reading a book. You know that kind of laugh that makes your eyes teary? The one wherein you have to stop reading because you can’t breathe from laughing too much?

When it comes to chick lit, this is my favorite. I have a lot of favorites, but this is definitely on top of the list. I was supposed to upload this post yesterday. And since it was April Fools’ Day, I picked the most hilarious book in my shelf. But then again, I didn’t get to post it yesterday. 😂 Joke’s on me. I might move the weekly book recommendation to Saturday or Sunday. I got more free time during the weekends.

The book is a light and fun read. The one that you will enjoy reading from time to time and never get tired of. Poppy is a heroine that you’ll instantly love from the very first page.

IMG_4043.JPG

I’ve Got Your Number is probably Sophie Kinsella’s best work yet. For me. Hahahaha! I love all her works. I’m a huge fan. But this one is definitely my favorite. And I recommend it to every book lover–who loves to laugh–out there.

Genre: Chick Lit/Romance

Freesia’s Rating: 💛💛💛💛💛

For: 16+

This book in five random words…

💛 Beyonce!

💛 Ring

💛 Messages

💛 Phone

💛 Search

Why I think you should read this book…

💛 It’s hilarious. It’s so hard not to laugh. One of my favorite scenes was when she danced. I won’t elaborate on the details, so as not to spoil the story. But I was laughing so hard that I had to put down the book and catch my breath. And when I started to read again, I couldn’t move on. I was still laughing about it. Even now, just thinking about it makes me laugh. 😂 I really love this book. 😍

💛 It’s Chick Lit at its best.

What I love about this book…

💛 I love every bit of it. It’s the perfect recipe.

💛 Beyonce! All the single ladies! 😂 Hahahahaha! Okay, I’ll stop there. But that part, I adore it.

💛 The concept. It’s not new, but Sophie Kinsella did it so flawlessly. Poppy lost her engagement ring. And while searching for it, she saw a phone in the public bin. The phone belongs to the Sam (long story short haha). Poppy didn’t want to give up the phone because of the ring, so she had to forward all the messages to Sam as part of the agreement.

💛 Which brings us to the next point–I love the love story. The chemistry of the two leads. The story before it became their story. They’re so perfect. ❤

💛 Poppy! And Sam! Both of them. I love them. It’s the kind of book that you don’t want to end. I hope there will be a sequel. 😊

Favorite quotes from the book…

“We’re playing Scrabble. It’s a nightmare.”

“Scrabble?” He sounds surprised. “Scrabble’s great.”

“Not when you’re playing with a family of geniuses, it’s not. They all put words like ‘iridiums’. And I put ‘pig’.”

—–

“If it’s in the bin, it’s public property.”

—–

“I’m blushing at my own stupid, nonsensical, meaningless thought process, which, by the way, nobody knows about except me.”

(she’s so me! 😂)

—–

“Lover? I don’t know. I don’t know if she loves me. I don’t know if I love her. All I can say is, she’s the one I think about. All the time. She’s the voice I want to hear. She’s the face I hope to see.”

Book Description:

Poppy Wyatt has never felt luckier. She is about to marry her ideal man, Magnus Tavish, but in one afternoon her “happily ever after” begins to fall apart. Not only has she lost her engagement ring in a hotel fire drill, but in the panic that follows, her phone is stolen. As she paces shakily around the lobby, she spots an abandoned phone in a trash can. Finders keepers! Now she can leave a number for the hotel to contact her when they find her ring. Perfect!

Well, perfect except that the phone’s owner, businessman Sam Roxton, doesn’t agree. He wants his phone back and doesn’t appreciate Poppy reading his messages and wading into his personal life.

What ensues is a hilarious and unpredictable turn of events as Poppy and Sam increasingly upend each other’s lives through emails and text messages. As Poppy juggles wedding preparations, mysterious phone calls, and hiding her left hand from Magnus and his parents, she soon realizes that she is in for the biggest surprise of her life.

(from: http://www.amazon.com/Ive-Got-Your-Number-Novel/dp/0385342071)

 

Leave a Reply

