11💛: How to Fall in Love

by Cecelia Ahern

IMG_4787.JPG

“And sometimes when you witness a miracle it makes you believe that anything is possible.”

Yes, another Cecelia Ahern book. It’s my bookshelf, after all. And she’s one of my super favorites! I’m not yet done reading all of her works, but I’m always looking forward to reading another one of hers. Speaking of which, The Year I Met You, hoping to see you soon. Where are you? Lost in transit? 😂

How to fall in love? It’s a question that I also ask myself. There are so many mysteries surrounding this process of falling in love. And still, nobody could tell. There’s no definite manual or procedure for it. It’s different for everybody.

But it’s not just falling in love with another person. The two leads will start off a journey on how to fall in love with life all over again. How to find another meaning. How to carry on. How to find another perspective. How to make your heart throb after living just because. There are so many ways how we sometimes give up on life. Times when it’s difficult to carry on. And with this book and Cecelia Ahern’s magical way of writing, she’ll show you how two people find another meaning for life and more (because it’s also a love story when you least expect it; not me, though, because I did expect it hahaha).

I picked up the book because of the cover. Because let’s just be honest, I do that a lot. I judge a book by its cover–at first. And then I look at the synopsis. And then at the first chapter. So yes, I took a copy of this home after seeing it displayed at National Book Store. Little did I know that this would also become one of my favorite reads.

Christine Rose is someone who’s passionate about guidebooks. She has a collection of “How to…” books and even thinks of writing one. For her, there’s always a proper process to reaching a certain goal. But what happens when things don’t go the way she planned?

Adam Basil is in the middle of thinking if he should end his life that same moment that Christine is crossing the Ha’penny Bridge. He’s been undergoing a lot of stress and the only solution he could think of is jumping off the bridge. After what happened to Christine earlier on before their first meeting, she’s determined to stop him at all cost.

Christine has two weeks. Fourteen days to teach him how to fall in love with life. But it’s really fun to see that it’s not just Adam who’s learning. Christine, our heroine, is also on this same journey with him.

Genre: Chick Lit/Romance

Freesia’s Rating: 💛💛💛💛

For: 16+

This book in five random words…

💛 Falling

💛 in

💛 Love

💛 Manual

💛 *heart*

Why I think you should read this book…

💛 Cecelia Ahern is a creative author. She has so many ideas, and you could feel that while reading her books. And when she grabs one, takes hold of it, and executes is so beautifully, there goes another magical book from this author.

💛 The way Cecelia Ahern sees the world is so different. So optimistic. This is probably what I like about her as an author. She could take on something and bring out the best in it. That’s what she did about these two people who are both undergoing setbacks in their lives and how they go on this journey on how to fall in love with life.

💛 It talks about finding life’s meaning again after going through a difficult time. It’s about understanding and working on life’s challenges. I like how the two keep on moving forward and with the limited time they’ve got, they’re on the go and taking hold of every opportunity and making the most out of things.

What I love about this book…

💛 The concept behind it. It’s not just Adam who’s in trouble with life, but Christine as well. And as they both try to understand what’s going wrong and how to make it right, they’re both able to heal their wounds.

💛 The first chapter. It started off strong. I won’t give out much details, but the circumstances that happened on the first chapter is why Christine’s desperate to help out Adam. It’s one of her personal quests as the book goes on.

💛 Dublin. Cecelia Ahern makes me want to go to Dublin.

💛 The author’s thoughts about things. I’ll always love listening to her views about life. I’m just so thankful that she’s writing books.

💛 The love story. It’s not as strong for me compared to, for example, the one in Love, Rosie. But like the idea itself, the love story is also something so unusual. You won’t expect it to blossom given their circumstances, but then you know that it will. That kind of feeling. Take a look at this excerpt…

“She roared with laughter. Passerby gave her strange looks, but she didn’t care. If she’s been able to stretch her vision to see beyond the trees he disappeared behind, she would have stopped laughing. She would have seen the couple who’d been in the dark street near the restaurant the previous night, again breaking into laughter when he felt it was safe to abandon the Wally persona. Everywhere she saw that one man, she didn’t see the woman behind him, with him, urging him on, supporting him. If she had, she might have wondered then who the display was really for.”

Favorite quotes from the book…

“You were my wonderfully bespoke original guide to happiness.”

“… you are loved because I love you.”

“But where pain was, healing could come; where loneliness was, new relationships could be formed; where rejection was, new love could be found. It was a moment. And moments changed. She would have to live through the moment to get to the next.”

“Where would we be without tomorrows? What we’d have instead are todays. And if that was the case, with you, I’d hope for the longest day for today. I’d fill today with you, doing everything I’ve ever loved. I’d laugh, I’d talk, I’d listen and learn, I’d love, I’d love, I’d love. I’d make every day today and spend them all with you, and I’d never worry about tomorrow, when I wouldn’t be with you. And when that dreaded tomorrow comes for us, please know that I didn’t want to leave you, or be left behind, that every single moment spent with you were the best times in my life.”

“Life is a series of moments and moments are always changing, just like thoughts, negative and positive. And though it may be human nature to dwell, like many natural things it’s senseless, senseless to allow a single thought to inhabit a mind because thoughts are like guests or fair-weather friends. As soon as they arrive, they can leave, and even the ones that take a long time to emerge fully can disappear in an instant. Moments are precious; sometimes they linger and other times they’re fleeting, and yet so much could be done in them; you could change a mind, you could save a life and you could even fall in love.”

Book Description:

She has just two weeks. Two weeks to teach him how to fall in love – with his own life.

Adam Basil and Christine Rose are thrown together late one night, when Christine is crossing the Halfpenny Bridge in Dublin. Adam is there, poised, threatening to jump. Adam is desperate – but Christine makes a crazy deal with him. His 35th birthday is looming and she bets him she can show him that life is worth living before then.

Despite her determination, Christine knows what a dangerous promise she’s made. Against the ticking of the clock, the two of them embark on wild escapades, grand romantic gestures and some unlikely late-night outings. Slowly, Christine thinks Adam is starting to fall back in love with his life.

But has she done enough to change his mind for good? And is that all that’s starting to happen?

(from: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18161265-how-to-fall-in-love)

Leave a Reply

