12💛: The Mediator Series

by Meg Cabot

IMG_4796.JPG

“And try to remember what we discussed, Susannah. A mediator is someone who helps others resolve conflicts. Not someone who, er, kicks them in the face.”

I finally have a copy of the latest book from The Mediator series by one of my favorite authors, Meg Cabot. And yup, I’m slowly, slowly reading it. I don’t want it to finish and yet I want to read everything. This kind of feeling. I’m sure you could relate. 😄

The series is about Susannah, a mediator. She helps wandering souls crossover. That is putting it simply. What makes this series unique is that Susannah is a kickass heroine. She’s not the type who sits around doing nothing. Not the type who’s patient enough to talk with you for hours and explain things in a calm manner. But she’s just what these ghosts need–a little kick in the butt.

Then there’s Jesse, a charming boy in Suze’s new bedroom. But here’s the catch, he’s actually a ghost and has been living there for the last 150 years. Suze could see him because she’s a mediator, much to Jesse’s surprise.

And with that, their adventure begins.

Genre: Paranormal/Romance

Freesia’s Rating: 💛💛💛💛

For: 16+

This series in five random words…

💛 Ghost

💛 Busters 😂

💛 School

💛 Hispanic

💛 Cemetery

Why I think you should read this series…

💛 I don’t know if I was the only one who didn’t see it coming, but there was a twist in this book that everyone would love. I didn’t realize it until it was happening.

I was, like, ohhhh. 😯

I was so content with just reading books about Suze’s adventures as she kicks ghosts’ butts. I would have read twenty books and won’t feel tired about it. Every book offers a new bunch of ghosts, each with different circumstances why they can’t crossover and how Suze will ‘help’ them.

But, I mean, Jesse, the heroine’s love interest, is a ghost. How will they be together… well, until the twist. Thanks, Meg Cabot, for this. Of course, you know what’s best for your books and for us your readers as well. I honestly didn’t see it coming.

Well, I’m particularly clueless about things and tend not to overthink unless I have to. Thanks, my books. You use all my brain cells that I don’t have much left for anything else. But I’m really like this. I just enjoy the moment as it goes.

💛 So yes, this series offers a one of a kind adventure and one unique love story. ❤

💛 Meg Cabot knows how to create a series. For me, nobody does it better than her. The right amount of plot and ideas.

What I love about this series…

💛 Suze and Jesse’s chemistry. One’s a burning fire and the other is a calm body of water. And that’s how it goes.

💛 The ghosts. They each have a conflict of their own.

💛 Suze’s stepbrothers! Her family, in general. Even her dad.

💛 Such a fun read.

Favorite quotes from the series…

“See, my special gift is that I’m a mediator. I help guide the tortured souls of the newly dead to their afterlife destinations-wherever that happens to be-generally by cleaning up whatever messes they left behind when the croaked.”

“Father Dominic, however is a way better mediator than I am. Well, maybe not better. But different, certainly. See, he really feels that ghosts are best handled with gentle guidance and earnest advice-same as the living. I’m more in favor of a sort of get-to-the-point approach that tends to involve my fists.”

“I won’t tell you how I managed to break in, since I don’t want the authorities figuring out, but let’s just say that if you’re going to make a gate, make sure it reaches all the way to the ground.”

“See, even though Jesse’s a ghost, and can walk through walls and disappear and reappear at will, he’s still…well, there. To me, anyway. That’s what makes me-and Father Dom-different from everybody else. We not only can see and talk to ghosts, but we can feel them too-just as if they were anybody else. Anybody alive, I mean. Because to me and Father Dom, ghosts are just like anyone else, with blood and guts and sweat and bad breath and whatever. The only real difference is that they kind of have this glow around them-an aura, I think it’s called.”

“Of course, I didn’t know how I felt about my first kiss coming from one of the undead, but hey, beggars can’t be choosers, and let me tell you something, Jesse was way cuter than any live guy I’d met lately.”

Series Description:

Suze Simon has a problem: She’s been able to see and speak to ghosts all her life. Things have gotten especially bad now that her mom has remarried and Suze has three new stepbrothers…and a very sexy guy hanging out in her bedroom. Too bad the guy’s been dead for a hundred and fifty years.

(from: http://www.megcabot.com/mediator/)

The novels are:
1. USA: Shadowland/UK: Love You to Death
2. USA: Ninth Key/UK: High Stakes
3. USA: Reunion/UK: Mean Spirits
4. USA: Darkest Hour/UK: Young Blood
5. USA: Haunted/ UK: Grave Doubts
6. USA: Twilight/ UK: Heaven Sent

(from: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Mediator)

Leave a Reply

