‘Tis the Season to do a Drama Marathon (Best of 2016)

Since I’m a self-confessed Kdrama/Asian drama addict, here’s my take on the very best of 2016:

  1. AGE OF YOUTH

    tumblr_oc6hmtIz0y1thrcopo2_500.png

    • It’s a coming-of-age drama about five university students who ended up living in one dorm. It’s very easy to fall in love with the characters. They’re all different, but their chemistry is amazing.
    • There are side-story romances, but it hardly even matters. These girls could talk about anything all day and I’d still watch it. They could be with anyone and break-up with anyone whenever they wanted, and I’d still root for them.
    • It’s more about the friendship that has been established while living together. How they started out as strangers to knowing each other’s deepest secrets. How they strive to be a better person, even if they don’t know what that is. How they help each other. All the angst, the struggles and mistakes, you’ll be able to relate some of them (if not all) to yourself. Because we all went through something like that. That’s one of the charms of this show.
    • I love how… it’sย real. It will make you laugh and cry. And miss your friends so much. Season 2, please!
  2. SOMETHING ABOUT 1%

    4935_OnePercentofSomething_Nowplay_Small.jpg

    • It’s a typical contract marriage. A cliche, as you would have it. But the show flaunts all that it is so well and it doesn’t pretend to be anything else. In the end, it’s still the show that you’d love to watch.
    • This has been my most enjoyable watch this year, but it ended up in number two because Age of Youth has a more solid and complex story. This show, on the other hand, is like your favorite cup of milk tea. It’s very simple, but it carries the perfect dose of romance and comedy.
    • I love how… giddy this show made me feel.
  3. CHEESE IN THE TRAP

    cheese-in-the-trap.jpg

    • This is a story about complexities and all there is. It’s also a story about a boy and a girl and their friends and all life in general. And how the girl is in the middle of everything. But she’ll manage, don’t worry.
    • I’ve heard about the hype going around about this show, but I seriously enjoyed it. With all honesty, I really loved the show. I think the actors did their parts well. As a non-manhwa reader, I have enjoyed the drama as it was. Not much complaints.
    • I love how… it’s different.
  4. DOCTORS

    • Cl7x7L1UkAAzUo5.jpg
    • How much do I love this show, let me count the ways: infinity.
    • I love Park Shin Hye, period. I adore all her shows. She always leaves a mark for every drama that she makes.
    • This is a story about ย a former teacher-student who both ended up as doctors. A troubled high school student and her mentor. A complication. Reunited later on. Andย ๐Ÿ˜.
    • I love how… it’s very straighforward. And how it’s a very easy show to watch.
  5. W – TWO WORLDS

    w-is-a-2016-south-korean-television-series-starring-lee-jong-suk-and-han-hyo-joo.jpg

    • Okay, right from the start, I’m already in love with the two cast. This is Han Hyo Joo’s comeback drama. And Lee Jung Suk has always been my favorite. It couldn’t have been more perfect.
    • Then comes their chemistry. It’s either they’re acting so well (since they’re both such wonderful actors), or they’ve fallen in love somewhere along the way. I don’t know. That’s how convincing they’ve been.
    • So this is a story that will make writers fear a bit. You know, just in case one of our characters decide to come out of the story and haunt us. And yes, at some point, it also made me believe that this all might not be real. LOL.
    • First seven episodes was solid. It would get you hooked. For the rest, it’s a rollercoaster ride to the finale. Enjoy.
    • I love how… it’s so believable.
  6. DESCENDANTS OF THE SUN

    24c2662769.jpeg

    • It is a truth universally acknowledged that The Descendants of the Sun is a great show. I feel like I don’t need to say more.ย ๐Ÿ˜‚
    • A highly fictional tale of a doctor and a soldier. Of abs and soldiers. Of disasters and medics. Of uniforms and syringe. Of everything good there is.
    • I love how… the two episodes every week starts strong and ends strong and opens up to another adventure next week. Constantly good. I love the four leads. *belts* You are my everything…
  7. REPLY 1988

    Reply-1988_1560x872_modified_1.jpg

    • I am, still, in a love-hate relationship with this show.
    • I love that… it’s good. It’s a great contender to my favorite, Reply 1997.
    • I hate… the ending. The one she ends up with. I’ll never be able to accept it. I might. Not really. I mean, how? Why? I know Park Bo-gum’s the thing right now, but that’s it? That’s the reason? See the conflict? I’ll never understand.
    • But I still love you, Reply 1988. You’re wonderful. Maybe someday I’ll be able to accept you as you are.
  8. SIGNAL

    maxresdefault.jpg

    • A very gripping show that transcends time. For me, this is the best story of the year.
    • When the past meets the present through a walkie talkie, cold cases will be resolved. But as much as you alter the past, some things are ought to remain the same.
    • I love… how the writer’s a genius.
  9. MOONLIGHT DRAWN BY THE CLOUDS

    moonlight-drawn-by-clouds-2

    • When a girl goes undercover as a boy, count me in! This is a very endearing tale of a girl who needs to hide her complicated identity, that’s why she was raised as a boy. Somehow, she ends up working alongside the prince.
    • Then the complication. Funny moments. And hilarious antics.
    • I love… Park Bo-gum here. I might not have conflicting opinions about Reply 1988, but he owned this show.
  10. GOGH, THE STARRY NIGHT

    gogh-the-starry-night-episode-7-korean-drama-eng-sub

    • This made it to the top 10 because of the leads’ chemistry. It’s just a simple mini-drama about the struggles of a twenty something office girl about work, life, old flames, and love.
    • I love… the chemistry of the two leads.ย That episode 16?ย ๐Ÿ˜

 

Other dramas that I’ve watched this year:

  • Ouroburos
    • Why?
  • Jealousy Incarnate
    • Okay.
  • Uncontrollably Fond
    • What happened?
  • Another Oh Hae Young
    • Tried.
  • Drinking Solo
    • Could have been.
  • The Entertainer
    • Not that entertaining.
  • Cinderella and Four Knights
    • What is this?

 

To watch:

  • Marriage Contract
  • Jackpot
  • One More Happy Ending
  • Goblin
  • The Legend of the Blue Sea
  • Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok-Joo

 

2016 has been such a wonderful year for Kdrama fans like me. Looking forward to a wonderful 2017!ย ๐Ÿ˜Š

Leave a Reply

